No. 1: Classic Cherry Cake

Valentine’s isn’t usually a big “gift” holiday in our home. We’re usually good with a dinner and a movie date; we keep it simple.

This year, after some (a lot) of hints being given (since my birthday in November), my husband surprised me with a new KitchenAid Stand Mixer! Yes, after registering a few times to try to win one through various blogs and contests, and never winning, I think that that alone made him cave. He had me fooled that this probably wasn’t going to happen for a while since we’ve been kicking debt in the butt and saving up for a few things. Long story short, he got me and he got me good.

Along with the stand mixer, he gifted me a baking book, “Frame By Frame Baking“. It’s just about the best designed baking book I’ve ever seen. The photographs are pretty amazing and the steps are fairly clear and easy to follow. The only way I could think of going through this book is by taking it one recipe at a time during our sabbath, our days to rest, Fridays. I’m excited to taste new flavors, try (buy) new kitchen utensils, and slow life down a bit to bake something delicious that fills our home with that sweet homemade smell we love so much.

So, here we go. This is my first recipe from the Frame By Frame Baking: Classic Cherry Cake. It took me a bit longer than expected to make the cake since I had to homemake the candied cherries the recipe called for. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the process every bit of the way. Here’s my frame by frame:

Classic Cherry Cake

I got the how-to recipe on candied cherries from Shauna Sever’s blog, Piece of Cake. Super simple, inexpensive and the cherries came out perfect for the cake! The other ingredients were usuals for cake baking, with the addition of sugar cubes for the topping. I cannot tell you how delicious this cake tastes, the adding lemon rind and juice was definitely a nice touch with the cherries.

Overall, I absolutely enjoyed this Classic Cherry Cake recipe, even though I’m not big on cherries. It was such a good balance between the ground almonds and sweet cherries, and lemon juice, that just balanced it all out so well. The cake is soft, sweet, and tastes delicious served warm or at room temperature.

CLASSIC CHERRY CAKE

by Frame By Frame Baking

Ingredients:
3/4 cup unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing
1 1/4 cups candied cherries, quartered (I left these as is)
1 cup ground almonds
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup superfine sugar
3 large eggs
1 finely grated lemon rind and juice
6 sugar cubes, crushed

Instructions:

  1. PREHEAT oven to 350 degrees & grease your pan (I used a 6.5″ round pan)
  2. STIR cherries, almonds, and 1 tbsp of the flour
    SIFT leftover flour & baking powder separately
  3. CREAM butter & sugar until it fluffs up, while adding eggs
    BEAT until well blended
  4. ADD flour mix, fold lightly and evenly into the creamed mixture with a metal spoon.
    ADD the cherry mixture, fold in evenly, then fold in the lemon rind & juice.
  5. SPOON the mixt into your pan & sprinkle with the crushed sugar cubes.
    BAKE for 1 – 1 1/4 hours, or until risen & golden brown.
  6. COOL in pan for 15 minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Finally, cut into slices and serve and enjoy the delicious cake you baked!

Signature

Leave a Reply

